Instagram is testing a new feature called Archived Posts that will let you pull photos off of your main profile and into a hidden “Archive” section. That way, you can curate a perfect profile without deleting any of the photos you’ve shared on the social network.
The feature was first spotted last night by The Next Web Social Media Director Matt Navarra, and it works exactly as you would expect. When you click on the “…” to the top right of any of your photos, above the rest of the options—Turn Off Commenting, Edit, Share, and Delete—you now have “Archive.”
Once archived, those posts show up in their own section, which you access by clicking this icon on the top right of your profile page:
— Matt Navarra ⭐️ (@MattNavarra) May 23, 2017
These archived posts are not accessible by anybody else, making this essentially a “hide” feature, but if you ever want to put that photo back up, you can restore it to your profile in a couple of taps.
For now, not everyone has access to the feature. After a lot of speculation to the contrary online, Instagram told The Verge that this is an “early test” that will roll out over the “coming months.” However, if you do already have access, it should be pretty obvious: Instagram has created a pop-up to show you the new icon when you log on.