PetaPixel

Recent Creative Cloud Update Enabled App Data Gathering, Here’s How You Turn it Off

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.39.35 AM

In a sneaky move that the company probably hoped nobody would notice, Adobe turned on “Desktop App Usage Information” by default in the most recent update to Creative Cloud. This means that, unless they manually go in and disable the feature, CC users’ app usage data is currently being shared with Adobe.

Fortunately, disabling the feature is pretty easy, assuming you don’t want that info shared with Adobe.

The steps involved are fairly straight forward. First, go to Adobe.com and login to your account. Then click on “Manage Account” underneath your name and profile picture — at this point Adobe will probably ask you to type in your password again for verification, go ahead and do so.

You should now be logged into your account settings. From there, scroll down to the “Security & Privacy” section and click on “Manage” next to “Desktop App Usage Information.” That will take you to a page that looks like the second picture below.

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.41.47 AM

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.41.52 AM

Assuming you’ve arrived at this page, all you have to do is uncheck that box and click “Save.” You’ll see a little green confirmation message telling you that you’ve done this successfully.

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.42.54 AM

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.43.01 AM

That’s it! If you have any questions, or something about the instructions above seems unclear, feel free to drop your inquiries in the comments down below. And now, we leave you with the most appropriate GIF we could think of:

(h/t Reddit)